North Carolina’s Charlie Heck speaks during the Atlantic Coast Conference NCAA college football media days in Charlotte on July 18. Heck, an offensive lineman, is a preseason candidate for the 2019 Outland Trophy.

Outland Trophy

The Football Writers Association of America has announced the preseason watch list for the 2019 Outland Trophy presented by the National Foundation for Infectious Diseases. North Carolina offensive lineman Charlie Heck is among 83 standout interior linemen representing all 10 Division I FBS conferences and independents.

A native of Kansas City, Mo., Heck has started 22 games over the last two seasons on the Tar Heel offensive line, including all 11 games at right tackle in 2018. He led an offensive line that allowed just 0.91 sacks per game in 2018, seventh best in the nation and second in the ACC.

Heck was the team’s Lineman of the Week twice last year and graded out at 82 or higher in seven of the nine graded games.

This is the second year of a partnership with the NFID to present the Outland Trophy as part of a public awareness campaign focused on the importance of influenza (flu) prevention during the 2019-20 flu season. The award honoring the top interior lineman in college football will continue to be selected by the FWAA membership and has been rebranded as the Outland Trophy presented by the National Foundation for Infectious Diseases with a social media hashtag of #FightFlu.

The recipient of the 74th Outland Trophy will be announced during ESPN’s The Home Depot College Football Awards on Dec. 12, live from the College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta. The official presentation to the winner will be made at the NFID Outland Trophy Awards Dinner sponsored by Werner Enterprises and produced by the Greater Omaha Sports Committee on Jan. 15, 2020. Up to eight semifinalists will be named on Nov. 20 in Omaha and three finalists for the award will be announced on Nov. 25.

Candidates may be added or removed during the season. The distribution of watch list candidates is spread well among the conferences, with the Big Ten and SEC leading the way with 13 each. The Big 12 and Pac-12 are just behind with 12 apiece, followed by the ACC with 10 as well as the American Athletic (6), Independents and Mountain West (4 each), and Conference USA, Mid-American and Sun Belt (3 each). The list includes 32 offensive tackles, 19 defensive tackles, 18 guards and 14 centers.

Mackey Award

NEW YORK — North Carolina senior tight end Carl Tucker has been selected to the John Mackey Award Preseason Watch List for the second successive season as announced by The Friends of John Mackey on July 19.

From Concord, N.C., Tucker posted 16 receptions for 265 yards and two TDs as a junior in 2018. Starting six and appearing in 10 games, Tucker registered a career long 80-yard reception as part of a two-catch, 123-yard performance versus Virginia Tech. He added 48 yards and a TD on three catches at Virginia.

The award is given annually to the most outstanding collegiate tight end, the award recipient is selected by vote of the John Mackey Award Selection Committee and the 2019 Mackey Award recipient will be announced on December 11, 2019 and then presented live on December 12, 2019 at The Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show on ESPNU.

NFL Hall of Fame member John Mackey is considered to be the best to have played the tight end position. A tight end by whom all others are measured, Mackey was a role model on and off the field as demonstrated by his Super Bowl Championship, his commitment to community and his place in history as the first President of the NFLPA.

Doak Walker Award

DALLAS — North Carolina junior Michael Carter will begin the 2019 football season as a preseason candidate for the Doak Walker Award, the annual award presented to the nation’s top college running back by the PWC SMU Athletic Forum.

Carter, a native of Navarre, Fl., posted 597 yards and two TDs on 84 carries in nine games as a sophomore. He caught 25 passes for 135 yards and a TD.

He earned ACC Running Back of the Week honors by exploding for 165 yards on 18 carries against Virginia Tech. Later in the year he tallied 148 yards and a TD on 18 rushes at Duke.

Carter was also listed on the Doak Walker Award preseason list in 2018 after a stellar freshman year that saw him score a team-leading eight rushing TDs and finished with 559 yards on 97 carries in 2017.

Paul Horning Award

Louisville, Ky. — North Carolina junior wide receiver and returner Dazz Newsome has been named to the 2019 Watch List for the Paul Hornung Award presented by Texas Roadhouse, announced Thursday by The Louisville Sports Commission.

The Paul Hornung Award, now in its tenth season, is given annually to the most versatile player in major college football by the Louisville Sports Commission and football legend and Louisville native Paul Hornung. The winner and his family will be honored at the annual Paul Hornung Award dinner to be held at the Galt House Hotel in downtown Louisville on March 4, 2020. This will be The Paul Hornung Award’s third year as an associate member of the National College Football Awards Association.

Newsome, from Hampton, Va., displayed his versatility as a sophomore in 2018 by hauling in 44 receptions for 506 yards and two TDs as a receiver. He added 96 yards rushing and a TD on seven carries.

Newsome also returned six kickoffs for 125 yards (20.8 ypr) and 19 punts for 286 yards (15.1 ypr) and a TD. All together he tallied 1,103 all-purpose yards on the season, an average of 92.1 yards per game.

He was one of only seven players nationally in 2018 to score TDs by rush, reception and punt return.

The 2019 Watch List is comprised of 13 seniors, 27 juniors and four sophomores who play a total of eight different positions. They represent 44 universities in 27 states coast-to-coast across the 10 conferences that are part of the NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS), as well as one independent school. The Big 10 and Pac-12 lead the conferences with eight players, followed by the AAC and SEC with five players each.

“This award, which was created in my name, has earned a special place in college football,” said Paul Hornung, the 1956 Heisman Trophy winner who played every position in the offensive backfield during his Notre Dame career and was a triple threat halfback and placekicker for the title town Green Bay Packers of the early 1960s. “I’m pleased that we are able to acknowledge outstanding players who contribute any way possible to help their teams win, the same way I did.”

Information about the Award can be found at Players will be added to the Watch List during the 2019 regular season based on performance.

Get today’s top stories right in your inbox. Sign up for our daily morning newsletter.

Load comments